Join the Albany Mailing List
Box Office
020 8692 4446
Ugly Duckling
This
Season's
Family
£12, £8 conc, £34 family ticket*

Ugly Duckling

 

  • DATES & TIMES: Monday 4 – Sunday 31 December 2017. Various times – see performance schedule below.
  • AGE GROUP: 3+
  • TICKETS: £12, £8 conc, £34 family ticket*
  • PROMOTIONS £8 for groups of 10 or more (plus every 11th ticket free).
  • tutti frutti productions, the Albany and ARC Stockton present

    Ugly Duckling



    Written by Emma Reeves

    Co-produced by York Theatre Royal

    Illustration by Jessica Knight

     

    Meet the most unusual duckling the pond has ever seen! In their nest at the edge of a pond, the baby ducklings wait impatiently for mummy’s enormous egg to hatch. But their new brother doesn’t look like everyone else. He doesn’t even quack like a proper duckling!



    Teased and called Ugly by his siblings, our hero goes on an adventure in search of a place to fit in. As the woodland trees change from dark weathered branches to silver sticks of frost, the lost and lonely fledgling hides in brushwood and stares skyward at the migrating swans, yearning to belong and marvelling at their beauty.


    Moving through all four seasons, tutti futti and York Theatre Royal bring to life Hans Christian Andersen’s well known tale. With inventive physicality and live music, this charming production plays with the importance of identity, self-worth and takes us on a journey to discover inner beauty.

     

    ‘An inspired and imaginative piece of story-telling’ The Reviews Hub ★ ★ ★ ★ 

     

    ‘tutti frutti has gained an excellent reputation for delighting families with their shows, and this tradition continues with Ugly Duckling’. British Theatre Guide

     

    Ugly Duckling was commissioned by the Albany and ARC Stockton to provide an exciting, original and excellent Christmas show for families.

                                                                                                                                                

    Performance Schedule:

     

    Monday 4 December, 10.30am & 1pm 

    Tuesday 5 December BOTH PERFORMANCES NOW HAVE LIMITED AVAILABILITY 10.30am & 1pm

    Wednesday 6 December, 10.30am SOLD OUT & 1pm

    Thursday 7 December, 10.30am SOLD OUT & 1pm LIMITED AVAILABILITY

    Friday 8 December, 10.30am (LIMITED AVAILABILITY BSL interpreted) & 1pm (Relaxed performance)

    Saturday 9 December, NO PERFORMANCES

     

    Sunday 10 December, 11am & 2pm 

    Monday 11 December, 10.30am SOLD OUT & 1pm

    Tuesday 12 December, 10.30am LIMITED AVAILABILITY & 1pm

    Wednesday 13 December, 10.30am & 1pm

    Thursday 14 December, 10.30am LIMITED AVAILABILITY & 1pm

    Friday 15 December, 10.30am SOLD OUT & 1pm

    Saturday 16 December, NO PERFORMANCES

    Sunday 17 December, 11am & 2pm

     

    Monday 18 December, 10.30am & 1pm SOLD OUT

    Tuesday 19 December, 10.30am & 1pm

    Wednesday 20 December, NO PERFORMANCES

    Thursday 21 December, 11am & 2pm

    Friday 22 December, 11am & 2pm

    Saturday 23 December, 11am & 2pm

    Sunday 24 December, 11am & 2pm

     

    No shows Christmas Day or Boxing Day.

     

    Wednesday 27 December, 11am & 2pm

    Thursday 28 December, 11am & 2pm

    Friday 29 December, 11am & 2pm

    Saturday 30 December, 11am & 2pm

    Sunday 31 January, 11am & 2pm

     

    BSL interpreted performance:  Friday 8 December, 10.30am

    Relaxed performance: Friday 8 December, 1pm

     

    Please note: A Family Ticket consists of 2 adult and 2 children’s tickets or 1 adult and 3 children’s tickets.

     

    Schools and Nurseries

     

    Weekday performances from 4 - 20 December are school performances, however families are welcome to book.

     

    £8 for groups of 10 or more (plus every 11th ticket free).

     

    We can also provide a free lunchroom for your group, subject to availability. Booking is essential – please request when you book your tickets.

     

    Click here to download a booking form

     

     







     

    Something else you may be interested in...