Join the Albany Mailing List
Box Office
020 8692 4446

What's on: Theatre




We specialise in provoking, physical performances from some of the freshest theatre companies around.

 

Sign up to our Theatre mailing list for the latest news

Image:The Snail and the Whale
Mon 5 Dec - Sun 1 Jan
Tall Stories presents

The Snail and the Whale

Following sellout visits with The Snow Dragon and Twinkle Twonkle, Tall Stories, the company behind The Gruffalo and Room on the Broom bring their magical adaptation of The Snail and the Whale to the Albany for Christmas! 

Image:Albany Young Creatives
Wed 18 Jan - Sat 1 Apr
The Albany

Albany Young Creatives

Are you aged 16-25?

 

Interested in producing, performing, technical theatre or international exchange?

Image:We Raise Our Hands In The Sanctuary
Tue 31 Jan - Sat 11 Feb
Inky Cloak and the Albany present

We Raise Our Hands In The Sanctuary

Combining dance, drama and the club sounds of the 1980s, We Raise Our Hands in the Sanctuary tells an uplifting story of the power of gay friendship and the enduring importance of queer spaces.

Image:SMASHfestUK
Mon 13 Feb - Fri 17 Feb
THE ALBANY PRESENTS

SMASHfestUK

SMASHfestUK is back for 2017 with a packed programme of events and activities.

Image:The Truth to Power Cafe 2017
Tue 28 Feb - Thu 2 Mar
LONDON ARTISTS PROJECTS IN ASSOCIATION WITH INDEX ON CENSORSHIP AND THE ALBANY PRESENT

The Truth to Power Cafe 2017

‘Speaking truth to power: this is the rebirth of political theatre’ Michael Billington, Guardian

Image:A Place Called Happiness
Tue 28 Feb
DEBS GATENBY PRESENTS

A Place Called Happiness

Debs spent a year thinking about happiness. It brought her down.

Image:Celebration, Florida
Wed 1 Mar - Fri 3 Mar
GREG WOHEAD PRESENTS

Celebration, Florida

Celebration, Florida plays with the idea of surrogacy; a stand-in to replace a person you miss, a re-creation of an experience you can’t stop thinking about, of a nostalgia for a place that never existed.

Image:Tom Thumb
Sun 5 Mar
DNA PUPPERTY AND VISUAL THEATRE PRESENTS

Tom Thumb

Join us for a reimagining of England’s oldest tale of a tiny hero.

Image:Good Dog
Mon 6 Mar - Sat 11 Mar
TIATA FAHODZI PRESENTS

Good Dog

Mum’s promised him that bike so even when school or home-life bites, he knows to keep his chin up, his head down and his shirt clean.

Image:Sky in the Pie
Sun 12 Mar
HINGED THEATRE PRESENTS

Sky in the Pie

Forced out of her home, where will Dorothy Butterworth, the mysterious pie maker, and her crafty cat go?

Image:Stomping Ground: Stonecrabs Young Directors' Festival
Wed 15 Mar - Fri 17 Mar
STONECRABS THEATRE IN ASSOCIATION WITH THE ALBANY PRESENTS

Stomping Ground: Stonecrabs Young Directors' Festival

StoneCrabs Young Directors proudly present Stomping Ground, a diverse and dynamic three-night festival exploring the human experience from all angles through the reimagining of nine short plays.

Image:I'm Doing This For You
Wed 22 Mar
HALEY MCCGEE PRESENTS

I'm Doing This For You

‘You get comedy and cake. I get to correct a mistake.’

Image:Hatched: Not Bound Within
Fri 31 Mar
NAOMI CORTES PRESENTS

Hatched: Not Bound Within

Venus feels that she doesn’t fit in with the ‘notice me’ world around her. 

Image:Meet Fred
Wed 5 Apr - Fri 7 Apr
HIJINX THEATRE IN ASSOCIATION WITH BLIND SUMMIT PRESENT

Meet Fred

Life is never simple for the puppets among us…

Image:Fire in the Machine
Tue 11 Apr - Thu 13 Apr
SOUNDS LIKE CHAOS PRESENTS

Fire in the Machine

Commissioned by the Albany.

 

Image:Give Me Your Love
Thu 4 May - Fri 5 May
RIDICULUSMUS PRESENTS

Give Me Your Love

Give Me Your Love is a funny, fragile and profound fable based on real-life war testimonies and groundbreaking medical research into the use of MDMA to treat post-traumatic stress.

Image:Prison Game
Wed 17 May - Thu 18 May
MARCUS HERCULES PRESENTS

Prison Game

When prison is your world, how do you function within society? 

Image:Spring Reign
Wed 24 May
BENEDICT POWER PRESENTS

Spring Reign

A story from the Syrian conflict: based on real-life accounts of refugees, aid workers, activists, and journalists.

Image:The Adventures of Little Ghost Family Dance Workshop
Sat 27 May - Sun 28 May
SOPHIE NÜZEL PRESENTS

The Adventures of Little Ghost Family Dance Workshop

Join the company for an exclusive dance workshop.